Monday, 22 February 2010

Gorillaz - Plastic Beach

The time has come again for lastest piece of musical genius from virtual band Gorillaz and the forthcoming album is titled 'Plastic Beach'. The LP is due for release on March 8th in Europe and as Albarn said he wanted to do he has rounded up an eclectic mix of artists to feature on the album.

The album features artists such as Snoop Dogg, the UK's own Kano and Bashy, De La Soul as well as living legend and soul singer Bobby Womack - who at first rejected Albarn's request to collaborate until his daughter persuaded him to do it.

"Sweepstakes", the first song Mos Def recorded with Gorillaz, was done in one take. Mos Def described the song as "one of the greatest things as an MC that I've ever done" in an interview with 1xtra's Semtex. He also said that he will be made into a cartoon character named 'Sun Moon Stars' for his collaboration with Gorillaz and that his character is a game vendor at Plastic Beach.

Damon Albarn said he's, "making this one the most pop record I've ever made in many ways," this said, with the Gorillaz you never really know what to expect! All I know is that I am extremely excited to get my hands on this and if it lives up to my expectations then it should be one of the best albums of 2010!

Free Download
Stylo (feat. Mos Def and Bobby Womack) (Chiddy Bang Remix)

Plastic Beach Tracklist
  1. Orchestral Intro
  2. Welcome To The World Of The Plastic Beach (feat. Snoop Dogg)
  3. White Flag (feat. Kano & Bashy)
  4. Rhinestone Eyes
  5. Stylo (feat. Bobby Womack and Mos Def)
  6. Superfast Jellyfish' (feat. Gruff Rhys and De La Soul)
  7. Empire Ants (feat. Little Dragon)
  8. Glitter Freeze (feat. Mark E Smith)
  9. Some Kind Of Nature(feat. Lou Reed)
  10. On Melancholy Hill
  11. Broken
  12. Sweepstakes (feat. Mos Def & Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
  13. Plastic Beach (feat. Mick Jones & Paul Simonon)
  14. To Binge (feat. Little Dragon)
  15. Cloud Of Unknowing (feat. Bobby Womack)
  16. Pirate Jet

No comments:

Post a Comment